top of page

How I Crocheted My Way Through the Coronavirus

By Lex Daugherty

Senior, English, IUPUI


It looks like the weather has finally let go of its cold disposition. The sun shines down on the earth, warming the soil, and the springtime air wafts down streets bringing the refreshing smells of sprouting buds and freshly cut grass. It’s the perfect time to go out with friends and enjoy the day at the local park or farmer’s market.

But I can’t.

COVID-19 has bared its prickly fangs and locked the doors to the outside world. Or, at least, to a social life.

Now, I don’t consider myself to be an outgoing person. Stick a book in my hand and leave me in a warm, lit corner and I’m golden. I have a low need for social interaction. I’m the type of person who would gladly stay at home for days on end and hide away from that bright open thing that is “outside.” But if COVID-19 has taught me one thing, it’s that even I have my limits on seclusion.

And I’m nearing those limits.

How does one keep their sanity during times like this? Well, you keep yourself busy. I’ve decided to use my free time to finally make use of that seemingly endless pile of yarn lying at the end of my bed.

It all started March 16. IUPUI’s Spring Break had just begun. I was still used to a consistent school schedule and being productive during those times. I didn’t have the busiest schedule; I only had four classes here and there on campus, but it was a consistent schedule. All of a sudden, I had nothing to do because COVID-19 had just reared its ugly head and forced all of my classes to be moved online.

I was sitting in bed trying to think of something to do for the day when I looked past the foot of my bed at the tote holding all of the yarn I had shamelessly bought over the years for projects I never fully committed to. A thought popped into my head and I remembered dreaming of making my own blanket back when the winter months had hit us. So that’s what I did. I picked up an assortment of yarn, found my crochet hooks, and set to work.

Please don’t think that I am this spectacular weaver. I am self-taught from a couple of YouTube videos and I barely know three stitches. But I had a plan and a need to be somewhat productive. Those two weeks of Spring Break (an extra week had been added as we all transitioned to online) made me realize that crocheting is a great way to stay productive while watching your favorite TV shows. They also made me realize that blankets take forever to crochet. I had to break away a few times and start smaller projects that didn’t make my hand cramp and actually gave me a sense of accomplishment. I am now the proud owner of a set of four rainbow placemats and a hot pad, in addition to the blue monstrosity that is my blanket.


I’m not the only one who has used this forced isolation to be productive. I have an art teacher friend down in Austin, Indiana, which is about a half hour from Louisville, who has had to shift to training online while COVID-19 is around. Like me, she has used this time to attack her craft room and rid it of some yarn by crocheting as well. She used to run between four different elementary schools teaching kids art. Now, without having any kids to teach, she is working through more certification training or spending time with family, crocheting all the way. We like to share crochet stitch patterns through Pinterest and gush about all of the beautiful yarn that is out there. Even with us being so far apart, we are still able to have a great time bonding over something we love.

I have another friend who has had to take a break from work during this time. His workplace came to a full stop to save money until after the pandemic has passed. He has been using this time in another creative method. He works for a screen-printing shop on the north side of Indianapolis and since he’s not able to print shirts, he has turned his focus to designing shirts he wants to make when he is able to go back. I’m looking forward to seeing his new wardrobe when all of this ends.

There really is a lot that we can do during isolation. It’s all up to how imaginative we can become. And if crocheting isn’t your cup of tea, there are a ton of projects and ideas on the internet that might interest you. There’s no need to wallow the day away moaning and groaning about COVID-19. You might be surprised by what you find to do. At the end of the day, remember that you are more creative than you think.

And please wash your hands!

28 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page