top of page

Creating a Study Space While Sheltering-In-Place

By Emily Segrest

Senior, English Education, IUPUI


As college students, we are used to classrooms and face-to-face interaction, so transitioning to virtual classes for the rest of the semester because of the COVID-19 pandemic can be extremely anxiety inducing. I’ve personally struggled over the past few weeks to find any motivation to complete schoolwork in the midst of this global pandemic.

And I know I’m not alone.

The reality we’re living in right now is scary, intimidating, and strange. In the wake of everything happening, school may be at the very back of our minds. However, I’ve found creating a relaxing space where I can retreat to focus on classes has helped me think of schoolwork as more of an escape from the chaos than a chore. Carving out my productive space took me several weeks to perfect, but I finally have my own study haven full of plants, outdoor views, candles, and color-coordinated assignment sheets. While everyone’s idea of a relaxing and productive environment varies, trying a few of the strategies I used while forming my own space may help you in creating yours.

1) Choose a space you can dedicate to productivity when you need to focus. This space could be a desk, the kitchen table, a patio, your couch, anywhere you personally feel relaxed but still ready to work. It helps if the environment is somewhere you enjoy working, not somewhere you dread being. It took me several tries to find my perfect place. My comfy papasan chair didn’t give me enough room to spread out all of my textbooks, and the on-again, off-again Indiana weather ruled out my balcony. I finally settled on my desk. Settled in front of my window, my desk is clean enough to keep myself organized, while the pictures of my friends and family on my windowsill make me feel at ease. I recommend trying to avoid making your bed your study space if you can. Some researchers believe working in your bed can actually make it more difficult for you to sleep. Having a dedicated space where you can work also helps you separate school from home, which is important in the midst of all of the chaos surrounding us.


2) Determine how cozy you want to let yourself be. During remote learning, setting a schedule and sticking to it has helped me create some semblance of normalcy. Mapping out all of my remaining assignments for the semester gave me a structure I’ve lost in the pandemic. The need for structure can branch out into clothing as well. While some people thrive in sweatpants, you might find working in clothes that are a little too comfortable can lead you to want to curl up and nap instead of studying. There’s absolutely nothing wrong with working in comfy clothes if that works for you; Adidas sweatpants and oversized cardigans have been my staple wardrobe for the past four weeks. However, if you find your favorite pajama pants are inviting you to go back to bed when you have a research paper due in three hours, try dressing yourself as you would if you were attending class on campus. The act of waking up and getting ready can feel refreshing and give you the motivation you need to start being productive.


3) Natural lighting makes a huge difference. While we are all at home during the stay-in-place order, it may be difficult for us to soak up the rays we normally would walking across campus. Exposing yourself to natural light is important in boosting your vitamin D. The vitamin combats seasonal affective disorder, more commonly known as seasonal depression. Isolating at home to avoid the spread of COVID-19 has already taken a toll on my mental health, so making sure I get as much sunlight as possible helps me ensure I’m taking the steps I need to remain as healthy as possible. Because my desk is in front of a window, the natural light energizes me as I work. Natural lighting also brightens a room and can help us feel more connected to the outside world in a time where we are all feeling a little distanced from the people and things we love.


4) Keep items you may need close by. I make sure I have everything I could want within reach before I sit down to work. Recently, headphones have been mandatory in this era of endless Zoom chats. Phone and laptop chargers, Starburst jellybeans, and coffee are also essentials, as I know I’ll eventually wander off to grab them if they’re not already on my desk. Making sure you’re prepared to get into a focused mindset makes it less likely you’ll have to spend every few minutes rustling through your folders to find that assignment sheet. While I say this, it is still important to remember that you should take breaks from your coursework. I refresh my coffee, chat with my roommate, or do a facemask to give myself a little breather in between assignments.


5) Make your space your own. What makes you the most productive? My workspace probably looks completely different from yours. That’s okay. When creating an area to work in, I found it helpful to focus on my five senses: what can you smell, hear, taste, see, and touch? I use my Amazon Echo to play my Spotify “Quarantine Study Vibes” playlist when I tackle coursework, but you may prefer silence. Apple scented candles are my favorites and a variety of them cover my desk; oil diffusers work well for others. My snow globes and plants make me feel more at home, whereas you might need a pristine, classroom-like environment. Figuring out what works best for you is the most effective way to help you transition to remote learning smoothly.

The COVID-19 pandemic is unprecedented in the effects it has had on our education. Each day brings more and more uncertainty as the CDC and government update us on the proper protocols, only to readjust them days later. As an essential worker, though I am fortunate enough to still have my job, days have been long and stress levels have been high. Like everyone else, I miss my family, my University Writing Center coworkers, my classmates, and my professors. I would have never imagined one of the few constants in my life at this point would be my schoolwork.


I have no idea what the COVID-19 pandemic will bring in future months, so I find comfort in knowing the next few weeks will be filled with familiar classmates via Zoom and final projects I’ve worked on all semester. Sitting down in a study space I feel comfortable in to write my next literature analysis essay or draft another lesson plan brings me a sense of normalcy that I will not take for granted again.

62 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page